Land Rover Newbie looking for some advice

Started by peterlucas, April 08, 2016, 08:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

peterlucas

Hoping somebody with a little more Land Rover experience can help me with a choice I need to make. A little over a week ago I bought a 2002 Discovery. Never owned one,  always wanted to try one so went for it. I do all my own repairs from motor swaps to brake jobs so I'm not a mechanical newbie. The Discovery I bought has quite a substantial oil leak, looks like pan gasket and probably rear main seal. Not the end of the world, but a messy driveway nonetheless. Once warmed up, engine gets quite a knock in it. I'm assuming from research that it has a slipped sleeve, not positive just a guess. The body, interior, transmission, electrical are perfect. I'm trying to decide do I look for an engine and just suck it up and fix it or do I just sell it and try to get my money back? I have $2000 into it as it sits. The problem is, it's my daily driver and I can't afford to be without it. I work 4 on/4 off so lots of time to do a motor swap on days off, its just trying to afford it right now. I know it's a decision I have to make, just looking for advice

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk

Matt H

Slipped liners are not as common as the Internet would have you believe. Make 100% sure that is the case before you condemn the engine. Start with a compression test and cylinder leak down test.

If the pan is leaking anyway l suggest you pull it and look for signs of a slipped liner. Usually you would remove the heads to check this (slipped liners usually announce themselves as a head gasket leak) but signs can also be found in the crank case. Look for evidence of movement in the cylinder bores and staining indicating compression/combustion leakage into the crank case.

What oil are you using?
No Road Except For Land-Rover.

peterlucas