S3 Tranny Anywhere out there?

Started by Already a Rover, December 01, 2015, 10:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Already a Rover

Ooops, posted in the wrong section.  Looking for an S3 tranny, or failing that perhaps pay someone to rebuild the original.  Any shops you recommend?

Jim

Red90

Fix it yourself.  It is a Series Land Rover.  Meant to be repaired in the bush by an untrained monkey.

Already a Rover

I'll take that as encouragement, John.

I'm doing enough fixing as it is, believe-me!   

I'm not good with manuals however and an S3 IS an improvement, so don't be shy all you S3-owners out there!!

Otherwise, where do I get a rebuild kit from?  I might take a stab at it.

Jim

binch

Ashcrofts sells them I think.....
Cheers, Bill

camo388

I'm just saying that many people feel the 2A transmission is stronger than a 3.
The 3 has syncro between 1st and 2nd which makes shifting easier, but this becomes the weak point of the transmission.
Owners going from a gas engine to a diesel are advised to use a 2A transmission.
There are so many variables from weight of right foot, speed shifting to keep up to rush hour city traffic, size and width of tires, road/off road ground conditions, weight and wheel base of vehicle etc, etc, that this is a general opinion only.
The choice is yours.
Far easier to look at transmission while you have it out of the vehicle and it is not a complicated piece of machinery.  Not much more to do than look at gear tooth wear and condition of bearings.

Bruce

Already a Rover

Thanks Bruce, I hadn't heard that before.  I want to prevent a failure, not make it more likely.  Also good to know you don't think it is that hard. 

Looking on Ashcrofts' website, but don't know which tranny - don't see mine in there, but don't know the number offhand.

Engine Jack died tonight, gotta go out and fix it.

Jim

Already a Rover

Nobody told me you 'can't' take the engine out with transmission attached....

camo388